BHEC Requirements · Texas 2026

Texas LPC Associate Hours Requirements: The Complete BHEC Guide (2026)

You need 3,000 hours of supervised experience to move from LPC Associate to full LPC in Texas, and at least 1,500 of them must be direct client contact. You may not complete the hours in less than 18 months, no matter how quickly you reach 3,000. No more than half of your total supervision hours can be group.

You need 3,000 clock-hours of supervised experience to move from LPC Associate to full LPC in Texas, split across a 1,500-hour direct-contact floor, an indirect category with no stated ceiling, and an 18-month minimum duration that keeps running even after the hour count is done. This guide works through the requirement using the Texas Administrative Code (TAC) sections that govern it, written by the Texas State Board of Examiners of Professional Counselors under the Texas Behavioral Health Executive Council (BHEC). If you have not yet applied for your license, start with how to become an LPC in Texas and what an LPC Associate is.

Written by the HourJourney teamLast Updated: September 2026

Quick Reference: Texas LPC Associate Hour Requirements

Source: LPC Rulebook (March 2026) and the BHEC LPC Associate page

3,000
Total hours
1,500
Direct contact (min)
18 mo
Minimum duration
4 hrs
Supervision per month
50%
Max group supervision
60 mo
LPC Associate license term
2
Max concurrent supervisors
$0
Upgrade fee
Page 1 of the free Texas LPC Associate hours cheat sheet

Download our free Texas LPC Associate cheat sheet

Overview

The 3,000-Hour Requirement at a Glance

Reading the 3,000 hours as a single target misses what the rule requires alongside it. Three requirements run alongside the hour count: no fewer than 1,500 of those hours have to be direct client contact, no more than half of your total supervision hours can be group, and you may not complete the hours in less than 18 months, no matter how quickly you reach 3,000 (22 TAC 681.92).

Hours only start counting on the date your LPC Associate license is issued (681.91(c)). Hours obtained by an unlicensed person in any setting do not count, including a graduate practicum or internship, whether or not the work looked clinical (681.91(c), 681.93(f)(1)).

Texas also measures duration in months rather than weeks. The 60-month license window runs from the date of issuance (681.91(g)), and the 18-month floor is a minimum time to complete the hours (681.92(c)), which changes the planning math compared to states that count supervision on a weekly basis.

Breakdown

The LPC Associate Hours Breakdown

The requirement breaks into four pieces, each with its own rule citation in Chapter 681.

CategoryHoursTAC Cite
Total supervised experience3,000681.92(a)
Direct client counseling contact1,500 minimum681.92(b)
Indirect hoursRemainder, no stated cap681.92(b),(d)
Minimum duration18 months681.92(c), 681.93(f)(2)

The 1,500-hour direct minimum is a floor, not a target. Rule 681.92(d) requires that your overall experience "consist primarily of the provision of direct counseling services," and the rule does not state how "primarily" is measured. Indirect hours have no stated ceiling of their own; they are simply whatever remains once the direct floor and the primarily-direct standard are both satisfied.

Direct vs Indirect

What Counts as Direct Client Contact vs Indirect Hours

Two definitions in 22 TAC 681.2 decide which bucket an hour falls into. Direct client contact is "time spent counseling clients" (681.2(11)). Indirect hours are "time spent in management, administration or other aspects of counseling service ancillary to direct client contact" (681.2(14)). The Supervised Experience Documentation Form applies the same split, labeling the direct-hours field "face-to-face psychotherapy."

Chapter 681 states that only actual time spent counseling may be counted (681.92(b)). The rule does not list which session types qualify, so ask your supervisor how a borderline activity is recorded.

Indirect hours are management, administration or other aspects of counseling service ancillary to direct client contact. The rule gives no list of examples.

Keep the two categories on separate running totals from your first logged week. An Associate who records everything as one undifferentiated number has no way to confirm the 1,500-hour floor without reconstructing months of records by hand when a supervisor sits down to complete the SED.

HourJourney logs your hours in BHEC's categories

Each week you enter direct client contact, indirect hours, and individual and group supervision. HourJourney keeps the running totals.

Screenshot of the weekly entry form in a fictional Texas LPC Associate account
The weekly entry form for a fictional Texas LPC Associate
Duration

The 18-Month Minimum Duration

Texas sets an 18-month floor on top of the 3,000 hours (681.92(c), 681.93(f)(2)). Both requirements have to clear before an Associate can apply to upgrade to LPC. Finishing the hours early does not finish the license.

The floor only binds for Associates moving at a fast pace. Someone logging a full 40 countable hours every week reaches 3,000 hours in about 75 weeks, roughly 17 months, a month short of the 18-month floor. That Associate spends the remaining weeks logging supervised experience toward the calendar requirement, not the hour count. An Associate logging a more typical 20 hours a week reaches 3,000 hours in about 150 weeks, or close to 35 months, well past the floor, so the 18-month minimum never becomes the binding constraint for them.

Plan around the calendar, not just the hour total. Experience counts only after the license issues (681.93(f)(1)) and may not be completed in less than 18 months (681.92(c)), so the earliest finish date is your license issue date plus 18 months. Compare it to your hour-count projection and use whichever date lands later. Our Texas LPC hours calculator runs both clocks together.

HourJourney projects your finish date

From the pace you log, your dashboard shows the date you are on track to finish.

Screenshot of the projected completion card in a fictional account
The projected completion card
Supervision

Supervision: The Headline Numbers

Supervision on the LPC Associate track runs on a monthly rate rather than a running total. An Associate needs a minimum of 4 hours of direct supervision every month while actively counseling, unless a supervisor approves an extended leave of one month or more in writing (681.92(e)). Those 4 hours can be divided across multiple sessions and scheduled throughout the month by agreement between Associate and supervisor.

No more than half of an Associate's total supervision hours may be group supervision (681.92(e)). Individual supervision covers up to two Associates at a time; a group is three or more (681.92(e)). A Texas Associate's supervisor must be an LPC-S (681.91(a)(4)); 681.92(a)(2) sets a different supervisor test for internships completed outside Texas. To hold LPC-S status, an LPC must be licensed in good standing for at least 60 months and have completed supervisor training (681.72(d), 681.147).

Those are the headline numbers. Supervisor eligibility, prohibited relationships, and what happens when a supervision arrangement changes are covered in full in our guide to Texas LPC supervision requirements.

HourJourney checks your monthly supervision for you

Log supervision each week. The summary shows this month's hours against the 4-hour minimum and flags a month that falls short.

Screenshot of the Weekly Summary with a month marked Behind at 3 of 4 supervision hours, in a fictional account
A month marked Behind: 3 of 4 supervision hours
What Never Counts

When Hours Start, and What Never Counts

Hours only start counting on the date BHEC issues the LPC Associate license. "Hours obtained by an unlicensed person in any setting will not count" (681.91(c), 681.93(f)(1)). The rule does not state any credit for hours worked before the license issues, including while an application is pending. Applicants already licensed in another jurisdiction follow separate provisions (681.72(a)(8), 681.114(b)).

A Supervisory Agreement Form (SAF) naming a board-approved supervisor goes in with the Associate application; you do not need a job lined up. Issuance of the Associate license doubles as BHEC's approval of that initial SAF. Adding or changing a supervisor later uses the Supervisor Change Form, which states that no supervision may begin until the new supervisor is approved by the board's office.

Hours accumulated under a supervisor after the supervisor's license expires may not count as acceptable hours (681.93(g)(3)), and the same is true after supervisor status is revoked by Council order (681.93(h)). Hours logged under a lapsed supervisor are at risk.

Check your supervisor's status before every renewal period, not just when the relationship starts. Hours accumulated under a supervisor after the supervisor's license expires may not count (681.93(g)(3)). Verify on the BHEC Verify a License lookup rather than assuming.

License Window

The 60-Month License Window

The LPC Associate license expires 60 months from its date of issuance (681.91(g)). If the 3,000 hours and 18-month floor are not both complete by then, the Associate must reapply for licensure (681.91(h)), and BHEC's Supervision FAQs say the requirements in effect at the time of reapplication apply. The same FAQs say completed hours carry over if there is an appropriate record submitted to the board, and advise having the supervisor submit a Supervised Experience Documentation Form.

60 months is five years, and it starts on the license issue date printed on your Associate license, not your graduation date or your first day of work. Mark it the day the license arrives, and ask each supervisor to complete and submit an SED as that relationship ends rather than waiting until you reach 3,000 hours.

Documentation

Documenting the Hours: The SED Form

BHEC verifies experience at upgrade through the Supervised Experience Documentation Form (SED), revised May 4, 2026. One SED is completed per supervisor, not one for the whole 3,000 hours; anyone who worked under two supervisors over the course of their hours needs two forms.

Each SED reports four numbers for that supervisor relationship: total supervision hours, individual and group combined, direct client contact hours labeled "face-to-face psychotherapy," indirect hours, and the number of whole months of supervision under that supervisor. The supervisor also marks a Yes or No recommendation.

The supervisor, not the Associate, is responsible for submitting the SED, and has to do it within 30 days of the end of that supervision relationship or the completion of hours, whichever comes first (681.93(d)). Confirm your supervisor knows this deadline before a job change or a planned end date arrives, since a late SED can hold up an otherwise-ready upgrade application.

BHEC also publishes an optional weekly Supervision Hours Log for tracking as you go, but it is explicit that the log does not substitute at upgrade time: "Supervision logs will not be accepted." Only the completed SED form, from each supervisor, satisfies the requirement. Our guide to the Supervised Experience Documentation form walks through every field on the current version.

HourJourney fills in your SED form

Pick a supervisor and HourJourney fills in the Supervised Experience Documentation form with their supervision, direct and indirect hours from your log, ready for signature.

Page 1 of the Supervised Experience Documentation form as HourJourney generates it, from a fictional account, signatures blank
Page 1 of the Supervised Experience Documentation form as HourJourney generates it (signatures left blank)
Pitfalls

Common Mistakes That Delay LPC Licensure

These are avoidable errors in LPC Associate hour records, each preventable with tracking that starts on day one.

1

Logging hours before the LPC Associate license is issued

Hours obtained by an unlicensed person will not count, no matter the setting. The rule does not state any credit for hours before the issue date on your license.

2

Assuming practicum or internship hours count

They do not. The supervised experience must be earned after your Associate license issues (681.93(f)(1)). Planning a timeline around practicum credit overstates your progress.

3

Treating 1,500 direct hours as the finish line, not the floor

The rule requires experience that consists primarily of direct counseling services. Hovering just above 1,500 while indirect hours pile up drifts from that standard.

4

Letting group supervision exceed 50% of the total

Group sessions are efficient and easy to over-schedule. Track individual versus group supervision separately so the 50% cap never quietly gets crossed.

5

Switching supervisors without an approved Change Form

The Supervisor Change Form states that no supervision may begin until the new supervisor is approved by the board's office.

6

Continuing to log hours after a supervisor's status lapses

Hours accumulated under a supervisor after the supervisor's license expires may not count (681.93(g)(3)). Verify status on the BHEC lookup, not from memory.

7

Turning in a supervision log instead of the SED at upgrade

The optional weekly log is a tracking aid only. BHEC will not accept it in place of a completed Supervised Experience Documentation Form from each supervisor.

Stay on Track

How HourJourney Tracks All of This Automatically

Log your hours once and the system keeps the running totals honest:

  • ✓Direct versus indirect hour categorization checked against the 1,500-hour floor
  • ✓Monthly supervision hour tracking with the 50% group cap enforced
  • ✓Per-supervisor totals kept for each of your supervisors
  • ✓License clock tracking against the 18-month floor and the 60-month license window
  • ✓The four numbers the Supervised Experience Documentation form asks for, kept per supervisor and ready to hand over

Built for Texas pre-licensed clinicians.

Related Guides

Related Texas LPC Guides

FAQ

FAQ: Texas LPC Associate Hours Requirements

How many hours do you need for LPC in Texas?▾

You need 3,000 clock-hours of supervised experience as an LPC Associate before you can apply to upgrade to LPC (22 TAC 681.92(a)). At least 1,500 of those hours must be direct client counseling contact, and the remainder is indirect hours, with no stated cap of its own beyond the requirement that your experience consist primarily of direct counseling services (681.92(b),(d)). The hours must also span a minimum of 18 months (681.92(c)).

How many supervision hours do you need for LPC?▾

Texas sets supervision as a monthly rate rather than a running total: at least 4 hours of direct supervision every month you are actively counseling, unless your supervisor approves an extended leave of a month or more in writing (681.92(e)). No more than half of your total supervision hours may be group supervision, and a Texas Associate's supervisor must be an LPC-S, a Council-approved supervisor (681.91(a)(4)).

How long does it take to get 3,000 hours for LPC in Texas?▾

It depends on your pace, with an 18-month floor underneath the hour count (681.92(c)). At 40 countable hours a week, 3,000 hours takes about 75 weeks, roughly 17 months, just under the floor. At 20 hours a week it takes about 150 weeks, well past 18 months. Either way, the license clock and the hour count both have to clear before you can apply to upgrade.

Do practicum hours count toward the LPC Associate hours?▾

No. Hours obtained by an unlicensed person in any setting will not count toward the supervised experience requirements (22 TAC 681.91(c)), and the supervisor must ensure the experience was earned after the LPC Associate license was issued (681.93(f)(1)). Your graduate practicum or internship is documented separately on the Practicum Documentation Form that goes in with the Associate application (681.72(a)(6)); it does not add to the 3,000-hour total. Applicants who already hold an equivalent out-of-state license follow separate provisions (681.72(a)(8), 681.114(b)).

What counts as direct hours for LPC?▾

Direct client contact is defined as "time spent counseling clients" (22 TAC 681.2(11)). The Supervised Experience Documentation Form labels this field "face-to-face psychotherapy." Chapter 681 says only actual time spent counseling may be counted, and you need a minimum of 1,500 direct hours out of the 3,000 total (681.92(b)).

What counts as indirect hours for LPC?▾

Indirect hours are defined as "time spent in management, administration or other aspects of counseling service ancillary to direct client contact" (22 TAC 681.2(14)). Indirect hours carry no stated cap, but your overall experience must still consist primarily of direct counseling services (681.92(d)).

How long is the LPC Associate license valid?▾

The LPC Associate license expires 60 months from its date of issuance (22 TAC 681.91(g)). If your 3,000 hours and 18-month floor are not both complete by then, you must reapply for licensure (681.91(h)), and BHEC's Supervision FAQs say the requirements in effect at the time of reapplication apply. The same FAQs say completed hours carry over if there is an appropriate record submitted to the board, and advise having your supervisor submit a Supervised Experience Documentation Form.

Can an LPC Associate have two supervisors?▾

Yes, and two is the limit: an LPC Associate may have no more than two Council-approved LPC supervisors at any one time (22 TAC 681.91(e)). Adding or changing a supervisor uses the Supervisor Change Form, which states that no supervision may begin until the new supervisor is approved by the board's office.

Is there a fee to upgrade from LPC Associate to LPC?▾

No. BHEC states plainly that there is no fee for the upgrade application. You still need a current jurisprudence exam certificate, an NPDB self-query, fingerprints if not already on file, and a Supervised Experience Documentation Form from every supervisor you worked under. BHEC will not accept a supervision log in place of the SED.

More on the Texas LPC track

Once the hours are under way, the next questions are who can supervise an LPC Associate in Texas, the 60-month LPC Associate limit, upgrading from LPC Associate to LPC, the Texas LPC jurisprudence exam, Texas LPC renewal, fees and CE, Texas LCSW hours requirements, and Texas LMFT Associate hours requirements. For everything else, browse all Texas guides.

Requirements verified against the LPC Rulebook (March 2026) and the BHEC LPC Associate, upgrade to full LPC, and supervision FAQ pages. Statutes and regulations can change. Always confirm current requirements at bhec.texas.gov before making decisions about your licensure path. This guide is for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal or professional advice.