Nevada MFT and CPC Interns · 2026

Nevada Six-Month Internship Report

Nevada MFT-Interns and CPC-Interns report to the Nevada Board of Examiners for Marriage and Family Therapists and Clinical Professional Counselors every March 15 and September 15. This page covers the form, the zero-hour rule, the final report and the renewal request. The hour rules themselves are in Nevada MFT intern requirements and Nevada MFT and CPC intern supervision.

Written by the HourJourney teamLast Updated: October 2026

Quick Reference: Nevada Intern Reports

Source: Nevada MFT/CPC Board internship forms and reports and NAC 641A

Mar 15, Sep 15
Report due dates
6 months
Period each report covers
1 renewal
One-time 3-year renewal
2 years
Since license issue, before the final report
1. Deadlines

March 15 and September 15

An intern must, "on or before September 15 and March 15 of each year of his or her internship," solicit a report from the approved primary supervisor evaluating the internship and submit it to the Board with two hour reports: one with all internship hours accumulated to the date of the report, and one with all hours accumulated within the preceding 6-month period (NAC 641A.146(2)(a) to (c)). Soliciting the supervisor's report is the intern's task. The primary supervisor has a duty of their own: to complete and submit a written report on the Board's form by the same two dates, with a rating of the intern's progress, the hours to date and the hours in the preceding 6-month period (NAC 641A.178(5)).

The Board's intern information page says reports go on "the approved forms" and are uploaded to the licensure portal on those dates "of each year until your internship is completed. This is your responsibility." Arithmetic: March 15 to September 15 is 6 months, and September 15 to the next March 15 is 6 months, so the two dates split each year into two equal reporting periods.

Both tracks use the same report. The rules that fill the form are in Nevada MFT intern requirements and Nevada CPC intern requirements.

2. The Form

What the SIX-MONTH INTERNSHIP REPORT Contains

The printed title is SIX-MONTH INTERNSHIP REPORT. The Board's file name is "rev_09.2026"; the form prints no revision date. It is a fillable PDF, and it reprints excerpts of NAC 641A.146 and NAC 641A.178. The weekly grids are organized by month, with a "Week of:" row for each week, a "Primary Supervisor Weekly Comments" column and a "TOTAL HOURS =" line. The grid rows carry these printed labels and limits:

Printed labelPrinted limitMatching rule
PRIMARY direct supervisionrequired minimum 160 hoursNAC 641A.178(1)(a)
SECONDARY direct supervisionrequired minimum 40 hoursNAC 641A.178(1)(b)
Direct therapy/counseling with clientsrequired minimum 1500 hours totalNAC 641A.146(5)(a)
Group therapymaximum 600 hours total, no minimumNAC 641A.146(5)(c)(2)
Personal Therapymaximum 150 hours total, no minimumNAC 641A.146(5)(c)(4)
Documented teaching approved by primary supervisormaximum 200 hours total, no minimumNAC 641A.146(5)(c)(3)
Additional training approved by primary supervisormaximum 200 hours total, no minimumNAC 641A.146(5)(c)(5)
Direct observation of counseling by primary supervisorrequired minimum once per reporting periodPrinted on the form only; NAC 641A.178 as currently in force does not state it

Limits printed with the word total, such as "1500 hours total," are totals, not per-period figures. The totals page, headed "TOTALS FOR SIX-MONTH PERIOD," has numbered lines for supervision (split Primary and Secondary), direct therapy/counseling with clients, group therapy, personal therapy, teaching and additional training. It ends with "Six-month reporting totals (Pursuant to NAC 641A.146, 2(c))" and "TOTAL ACCUMULATED HOURS TO DATE (Pursuant to NAC 641A.146, 2(b))." Those are the two hour reports the rule asks for.

Illustration, as arithmetic: if group therapy is 30 hours in one period and 45 in the next, the second report shows 45 for the period and 75 to date, and the printed maximum of 600 leaves 525 hours of room.

The primary supervisor's page is headed "PRIMARY SUPERVISOR EVALUATION OF INTERN PERFORMANCE." It has three boxes, "Sufficient," "Needs improvement" and "Insufficient," plus "Primary Supervisor's Rationale for Rating" and "Supervision Goals During Next Six-Month Period." NAC 641A.178(5)(a) itself names two ratings, "sufficient" or "insufficient," with reasons for insufficient. The supervisor certifies that the hours were performed under their supervision in the dates stated.

The next page is headed "SECONDARY SUPERVISOR(S) EVALUATION OF INTERN PERFORMANCE" and opens with "Secondary Hours Accrued During this Period?" and YES and NO boxes. The form says: "If yes, each secondary supervisor you met with is required to give feedback. If not, the portion below can be left blank. You still need to turn this page in because your answer needs to be recorded."

The row "Direct observation of counseling by primary supervisor (required minimum once per reporting period)" is printed on the form. The minimum is printed on the form only; NAC 641A.178 as currently in force does not state it. Raise it with your primary supervisor before a period closes. NAC 641A.178(3)(b) and (c) separately list therapy sessions in which the supervisor participates or observes as supervision time.

3. Reporting Duty

Zero-Hour Periods and Missed Reports

The Board's intern information page says that for any six-month period with no hours, the intern should complete the forms, list the hours as 0 and submit. It adds: "Failure to report may result in withdrawal of internship." A period with no hours still gets a report.

Three sources describe the consequence, each in its own words. The rule: "The Board may revoke the license of any intern who fails to file a written report," and that intern "Shall submit to the Board the reasons for his or her failure to file the written report" and "Must reapply for a new license in accordance with all applicable provisions of law in place at the time of reapplication" (NAC 641A.146(3)). The Board page: "withdrawal of internship." Form #3 and Form #6: "Failure to submit reports may void the internship."

4. The Final Step

Form #3 and Form #6: the Final Internship Report

The printed titles are FORM #3, MFT FINAL INTERNSHIP REPORT FROM PRIMARY SUPERVISOR, and FORM #6, CPC FINAL INTERNSHIP REPORT FROM PRIMARY SUPERVISOR. Each prints lines for the intern's name, license number and signature, the reminder "INTERNSHIP PROGRESS REPORTS MUST BE SUBMITTED BY EACH MARCH 15TH AND SEPTEMBER 15TH," and a primary supervisor certification for a stated period. Each carries an "Updated 10/24" line saying it supersedes all other forms. Form #3 numbers its categories as follows:

LinePrinted on Form #3Printed limit
1Direct marriage and family therapy supervisionMinimum of 300 hours total, required (minimum 160 Primary - 40 Secondary)
2Marriage and Family therapy (with clients)Minimum of 1500 hours, total required
3Group therapyMaximum 600 hrs, no minimum
4Personal therapyMaximum 150 hrs, no minimum
5Documented teaching approved by Primary supervisor (parent/family education, workshops)Maximum 200 hrs, no minimum
6Additional Training (University graduate work, approved workshops) approved by Primary supervisorMaximum 200 hrs
7Practicum Hours completed graduate workMust attach form #7, Signed by University Supervisor

Form #6 repeats the structure with counseling wording: "Direct clinical professional counseling supervision," "Clinical professional counseling (with clients)" and "Group therapy experience." Both forms also print "TOTAL HOURS accumulated to date" and an "INTERN'S PROGRESS" box with "Sufficient progress" and "Needs further training."

The rule sets the 1,200 related-work hours as a total that "may consist of" capped buckets, in addition to the 1,500 hours with clients and the 300 supervised hours (NAC 641A.146(5)(a) to (c)). Arithmetic: 1,500 + 300 + 1,200 = 3,000. The five caps on the related-work buckets (500 graduate-program client contact, 600 groups, 200 teaching, 150 personal therapy, 200 training) add to 1,650, so the 1,200 cannot come from one bucket alone.

The Board's final report page says a Final Report Form should be submitted when "At least two years have passed from intern license issue date," the minimum number of internship experience hours have been acquired, and the intern has received an official passing score on the national licensing exam. Through the MFT or CPC final hours application, it asks for a six-month report running from the last reporting period to the finish, a final hours report spanning the whole internship, and a copy of the passing test scores.

5. Renewal

Nevada Intern License Renewal: the INTERNSHIP RENEWAL REQUEST

If an intern does not complete the internship within 3 years after the Board approves it, the intern must request a renewal. "The Board will only grant one 3-year renewal of the license." An intern who still has not completed the internship within 3 years after the renewal must submit the reasons and reapply for a new license (NAC 641A.146(4)). The renewal fee is $150 (NAC 641A.105(1)(a)). The Board's renewal page says the request application is in the licensure portal and that an internship not renewed terminates three years from the license issue date.

The form is titled INTERNSHIP RENEWAL REQUEST (printed "Updated 04/30 supersedes all other forms"; file name "Rev 04.2026"; fillable). It states, citing NRS 641A.2872(2)(a) and NRS 641A.2882(2)(a): "An intern may request a ONE-TIME Three-Year Renewal of their Internship." The intern prints their name, intern number and license issue date, gives a brief description after "I petition the Board to renew my internship due to," and both the intern and the primary supervisor sign and date.

The form prints: "If the Internship expiration date has passed, the intern must cease and desist the practice of marriage and family therapy or clinical professional counseling, respectively, until the Board has the chance to consider their Internship Renewal Request."

6. Practicum Hours

Form #7: the Practicum Internship Report

The printed title is PRACTICUM INTERNSHIP REPORT FROM UNIVERSITY SUPERVISOR, Form #7. It is printed "To be submitted with initial application or any time during internship," and the university supervisor enters hours of Marriage and Family Therapy or Clinical Professional Counseling, each "(face to face with clients)," and certifies the period. Line 7 of Form #3 and Form #6 says to attach it. The rule lets graduate-program client contact count inside the related-work bucket, "not more than 500" hours (NAC 641A.146(5)(c)(1)).

7. Filing

Where Each Form Is Filed

The Board's internship forms and reports page lists the Six-Month Internship Report, Form #3, Form #6, the Internship Renewal Request and Form #7. The Board's pages place the filing in its licensure portal (Certemy): six-month reports are uploaded there, the renewal request application is there, and the final reports go through the MFT or CPC final hours application. The Board says to log into your existing account and not to create a new one.

The Board states that applicants are responsible for submitting all forms by the stated deadlines and that "Exceptions cannot be made" (Board MFT and CPC qualifications pages).

8. Keeping the Numbers

Keep Weekly Numbers in the Form's Categories

The report asks for each week's hours split into primary supervision, secondary supervision, hours with clients, group therapy, personal therapy, teaching and additional training. An intern who records those categories from the first week fills a grid instead of reconstructing one. Keep the primary supervisor's weekly meetings and any secondary supervisor's meetings separate, since the six-month form prints them as separate rows, and Form #3 and Form #6 print separate Primary and Secondary blanks under line 1. The supervision rules behind them are in Nevada MFT and CPC intern supervision, and the whole licensure path is laid out in how to become a therapist in Nevada. More are listed under all Nevada guides.

Pitfalls

Common Mistakes With Nevada Intern Reports

1

Skipping a period with no hours

The Board page says to complete the forms, list hours as "0" and submit.

2

Leaving out the secondary supervisor page

The form says you still need to turn that page in because your answer needs to be recorded.

3

Counting a capped category past its printed maximum

Group therapy 600, personal therapy 150, teaching 200 and additional training 200 are printed as maximums, with no minimum (NAC 641A.146(5)(c)).

4

Using an older copy of a form

Form #3, Form #6, Form #7 and the renewal request each print that the current version supersedes all other forms.

5

Practicing after the internship expiration date while a renewal is pending

The Internship Renewal Request prints a cease and desist line for an internship whose expiration date has passed.

6

Submitting the final report early

The Board page names three conditions: two years from the license issue date, the minimum hours, and an official passing score.

Stay on Track

Keep Your Weekly Hours in One Place

  • ✓Log hours by week
  • ✓Running totals kept per supervisor
  • ✓Running totals by category
  • ✓An export history

Built for pre-licensed clinicians.

Related Guides

Related Nevada Intern Guides

FAQ

FAQ: Nevada Six-Month Internship Report

When is the Nevada MFT or CPC intern six-month report due?▾

On or before March 15 and September 15 of each year of the internship. The intern solicits the approved primary supervisor's evaluation and submits it with a report of all hours accumulated to date and a report of the hours accumulated within the preceding 6-month period (NAC 641A.146(2)). The primary supervisor has a matching duty to complete a written report on the Board's form by the same two dates (NAC 641A.178(5)).

What do I submit if I had no hours in a six-month period?▾

The Board's intern information page says to complete the forms, list the hours as "0" and submit them. The same page puts the duty on the intern ("This is your responsibility") and says that failure to report may result in withdrawal of the internship. Reports go on the approved forms and are uploaded to the licensure portal until the internship is completed.

What happens if an intern misses a six-month report?▾

NAC 641A.146(3) says the Board may revoke the license of any intern who fails to file a written report. An intern whose license is revoked this way must submit the reasons for the failure and must reapply for a new license under the law in place at the time of reapplication. Form #3 and Form #6 print that failure to submit reports may void the internship.

What are Form #3 and Form #6?▾

Form #3 is the MFT Final Internship Report From Primary Supervisor and Form #6 is the CPC Final Internship Report From Primary Supervisor. Both list the hour categories (supervision, hours with clients, group therapy, personal therapy, teaching, additional training and practicum hours), a total, an intern's progress box and the supervisor's certification for a stated period. Both carry an "Updated 10/24" line saying they supersede all other forms.

When can I submit the final report?▾

The Board's final report page says a Final Report Form should be submitted when at least two years have passed from the intern license issue date, the minimum number of internship experience hours have been acquired, and the intern has received an official passing score on the national licensing exam. It asks for a six-month report covering the last period, a final hours report spanning the whole internship and a copy of the passing scores, through the MFT or CPC final hours application.

Can a Nevada MFT or CPC intern license be renewed?▾

Once. If the internship is not complete within 3 years after the Board approves it, the intern must request a renewal, and the Board will only grant one 3-year renewal (NAC 641A.146(4)). The Internship Renewal Request form is signed by the intern and the primary supervisor, and the renewal fee is $150 (NAC 641A.105(1)(a)). After the renewal term the intern must submit reasons and reapply for a new license.

What is Form #7 and who completes it?▾

Form #7 is the Practicum Internship Report From University Supervisor. The university supervisor reports hours of marriage and family therapy or clinical professional counseling "face to face with clients" and certifies the period. It is printed "To be submitted with initial application or any time during internship." Line 7 of Form #3 and Form #6 says to attach Form #7 for practicum hours completed in graduate work.

Requirements verified against NAC 641A as published October 2026 and the Board's forms (Six-Month Internship Report rev_09.2026; Forms #3, #6 and #7 updated 10/24; Internship Renewal Request updated 04/30). Statutes, rules, forms and fees can change. Confirm current requirements at the Nevada Board of Examiners for Marriage and Family Therapists and Clinical Professional Counselors before making decisions about your licensure path. This guide is for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal or professional advice.